Australian Foresters Awards open

Wednesday 6 Jun 2018

Nominations open for the Prince of Wales Award for Sustainable Forestry - The Institute of Foresters of Australia is calling for nominations for His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales Sustainable Forestry Award for 2018.

"It is about forests and foresters," said Mr Rob de Fégely, Vice-President of the Institute of Foresters of Australia and Director responsible for international relations.

"His Royal Highness has a well-known passion for forests and natural production systems. In recent years, he has provided support to the professional forestry institutes in Australia and New Zealand and prior to that in Canada and United Kingdom.

"His Royal Highness wants to encourage greater awareness of the importance of sustainably managing the world’s forests and training and creating a network of young foresters who will manage them professionally.

"Forestry is about long term thinking and planning and the stability of his leadership should inspire many younger members of our profession to join his quest to sustainably managing the worlds’ forests.

"We are fortunate to have such a prominent person as the Prince of Wales encouraging our profession and taking such a keen interest in forest management."

Awardees must be committed to public outreach and knowledge exchange, focusing on the wise use and conservation of forests and the ecosystems that they encompass.

Eligible recipients must either be a student or recent graduate and up to 30 years of age from a forestry, natural resources or environmental science university or college program, who have made outstanding contributions to their school and program, and to forest professionalism in general, within their community.

Recipients must be members in good standing of their respective Institutes, thus demonstrating their personal commitment to lifelong continuing education and professional development, and their support of forest professionalism.

Nominations close 30 June 2018 at

Photo: The Australian and New Zealand winners of the Prince of Wales awards in 2017, Jesse Mahoney and Alfred Duval met with His Royal Highness at the IFA roundtable

Share |

Copyright 2004-2019 © Innovatek Ltd. All rights reserved.