Northland forestry awards popular

Wednesday 11 Jul 2018

Dave Wilson of Rosewarne Cable Loggers (pictured) won the top prize at the Northland Forestry Awards in a year of record entries.

As well as being awarded the Northland Forestry Skilled Professional of the Year, Mr Wilson also won the Harvesting Excellence Award. He is known as one of the most professional crew managers in the region.

Since he started with Rosewarne Cable Loggers, he has been based in the Karaka Forest – an area with huge hills, long pulls, blind spots and open to the elements. Forestry companies he has worked for say he is the best around, and the longevity of his own crew highlights just that.

Judge Jacqui Apiata-Coyne says Mr Wilson’s passion and expertise had helped him develop into a highly skilled professional and an authentic leader. “He is a man whose reputation precedes him,” says Ms Apiata-Coyne. “He leads a team who work in a demanding and complex environment.”

Introduced to the awards this year was the Newey Transport Emerging Talent Award, which was won by Channing Green in a tightly-fought section. Ms Apiata-Coyne said the calibre of entries this year had been particularly high.

“The competition within the Emerging Talent Award, Harvesting Excellence and Roading Excellence, was very strong this year. There is a high calibre among professionals within the industry and many of those recognised would be equally recognised nationally,” she added.

The awards are one of many initiatives developed by the Northland Forestry Health and Safety Group, aimed to recognised and grow excellence within the industry. The group has a specific focus in developing a healthy and sustainable future for workers and the environment in the region and making an active contribution to the Forestry Industry Safety Council.

The 2018 awards were celebrated at the ASB Stadium in Whangarei, with more than 540 attending to toast the best of the industry. Poi Terei was master of ceremonies.

Check out: for full results.

Share |

Copyright 2004-2018 © Innovatek Ltd. All rights reserved.